Google temporarily disables Google Maps live traffic data in Ukraine

0 40

Alphabet Inc’s Google confirmed on Sunday it has temporarily disabled for Ukraine some Google Maps tools which provide live information about traffic conditions and how busy different places are.

The company said it had taken the action of globally disabling the Google Maps traffic layer and live information on how busy places like stores and restaurants are in Ukraine for the safety of local communities in the country, after consulting with sources including regional authorities.

For the latest headlines, follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

Ukraine is facing attacks from Russian forces who invaded the country on Thursday. As missiles fell on Ukrainian cities, nearly 400,000 civilians, mainly women and children, have fled into neighboring countries.

Russia calls its actions in Ukraine a “special operation.”

Big tech companies including Google have said they are taking new measures to protect users’ security in the region.

Online services and social media sites have also been tapped by researchers piecing together activity around the war.

A professor at California’s Middlebury Institute of International Studies said Google Maps helped him track a “traffic jam” that was actually Russian movement toward the border hours before Russian President Vladimir Putin announced the attack.

Google said live traffic information remained available to drivers using its turn-by-turn navigation features in the area.

Read more:

Japan sanctions Russia’s Putin over Ukraine invasion

Sweden to send arms to Ukraine in break with tradition: PM

Rouble tumbles to record low as West steps up Russian sanctions

FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE NEWS

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Trusted Bulletin is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – trustedbulletin.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.